Buy Responsibility

ERN Logo


OEDlogo final


Welcome to IOM Vienna

The International Organization for Migration (IOM) is an intergovernmental organization established in 1951. IOM is committed to the principle that humane and orderly migration benefits migrants and societies.

IOM currently has 146 Members and 98 observers including 13 States and 85 globally and regionally active International Organizations and NGOs. IOM is present in more than 440 field locations and has approximately 7,300 staff working on more than 2,900 projects. In 2010 IOM's expenditures exceeded USD 1.4 billion.

If you would like to know more about IOM in general, please visit the international website.

Since 1952, when Austria joined IOM as one of its first Member States, the IOM office in Vienna has worked to assist migrants and promote adequate responses to migration issues, bearing in mind the well-being of migrants and the interests of States and their societies. In particular, in the wake of several crises during and immediately after the end of the Cold War era, Austria received large numbers of refugees, many of whom were subsequently resettled with the help of IOM and other agencies. The IOM office in Vienna has undergone a number of changes over the years including its status as a Mission with Regional Functions (1997-2005) as well as its function as a Special Liaison Mission (2008-2011).

IOM's structure is highly decentralized to enable IOM to acquire the capacity to deliver an ever-increasing number and diversity of projects at the request of its Member States. As of 1 July 2011, IOM's organizational structure is composed of eight Regional Offices, two Special Liaison Offices, two Administrative Centers and more than 240 Country Offices and Sub-offices worldwide.

IOM Vienna currently consists of two offices: