FamA

FamA – Family Assessment of unaccompanied migrant children wishing to voluntarily return to their country of origin

Within the framework of the FamA project, implemented by the International Organization for Migration (IOM), Country Office for Austria, a family assessment can be conducted with respect to unaccompanied minors living in Austria, who wish to voluntarily return to their countries of origin. The outcome of this assessment is intended to primarily facilitate child and youth welfare organizations, entrusted with the care of unaccompanied migrant children, in their decision-making process with respect to the voluntary return of minors under their care.

The voluntary return of unaccompanied minors can only be arranged by IOM by taking into account internal IOM rules, which are based on international standards governing the treatment of unaccompanied minors, such as, inter alia, the Convention on the Rights of the Child. One of the requirements set out by IOM includes a “best interest determination” by the legal guardian in Austria, which should ideally factor in the minor’s family situation in the country of return. Such an open-ended assessment of the minor’s family situation can be conducted within the framework of the FamA project.


REQUIREMENTS:

• Consent of the legal guardian in Austria
• Consent of the minor
• Consent of the minor’s family in the country of return


PROCESS:

The assessment is carried out by an IOM office in the respective country of origin, ideally by paying a personal visit to the minor’s family. Should this however not be possible, the family is contacted by phone and invited to the IOM office. A standardized template is used to obtain information on, inter alia, the minor’s family, their socio-economic situation and housing conditions, as well as access to school/ education and medical care in the region of return.

The results of the assessment are subsequently presented to the relevant child and youth welfare organization, whilst having due regard to IOM’s data protection guidelines.


CAPACITY:

The project will run from September 1, 2015 to December 31, 2016 and envisages the implementation of up to 20 assessments.
 

MATERIAL:


For further information, please contact:

Andrea Götzelmann-Rosado

International Organization for Migration (IOM)
Nibelungengasse 13/4
1010 Vienna

Tel: 0043/1 585 33 22 22
Email: avrr.vienna@iom.int



This project is financed by the Austrian Ministry of the Interior.

FamA

FamA - Erhebung der familiären und sozialen Situation von unbegleiteten Minderjährigen, die in ihre Herkunftsländer zurückkehren möchten

Im Rahmen des von der Internationalen Organisation für Migration (IOM), Landesbüro für Österreich,  implementierten FamA Projekts kann eine Erhebung der familiären und sozialen Situation von unbegleiteten Minderjährigen, die sich in Österreich befinden und eine freiwillige Rückkehr in Erwägung ziehen, durchgeführt werden. Die Ergebnisse dieser Erhebung sollen vor allem die mit der Obsorge betrauten zuständigen Kinder- und Jugendhilfeträger (KJH) in ihrer Entscheidung über die freiwillige Rückkehr des/der Minderjährigen unterstützen.

IOM kann eine freiwillige Rückkehr von unbegleiteten Minderjährigen nur unter Berücksichtigung von internen IOM-Regeln, welche auf internationalen Standards zum Umgang mit unbegleiteten Minderjährigen, wie unter anderem der UN-Kinderrechtskonvention basieren, organisieren. Eine dieser Voraussetzung ist eine Kindeswohlprüfung durch den/die  Obsorgeberechtigte/n. Diese bezieht idealerweise die familiäre Situation im Rückkehrland mit ein. Im Rahmen des FamA Projekts kann eine solche ergebnisoffene Erhebung der familiären Situation im Rückkehrland durchgeführt werden.


VORAUSSETZUNG:

  • Zustimmung des/der Obsorgeberechtigten
  • Zustimmung des/der Minderjährigen
  • Zustimmung der Familie des/der Minderjährigen im Rückkehrland


ABLAUF:

Die Erhebung wird von IOM-Büros im jeweiligen Herkunftsland, idealerweise durch einen persönlichen Besuch bei der Familie des/der Minderjährigen durchgeführt. Falls dies nicht möglich ist, wird die Familie telefonisch kontaktiert bzw. ins IOM-Büro eingeladen. Anhand eines standardisierten Formulars werden u.a. Informationen über die Familie des/der Minderjährigen, die sozioökonomische Situation und die Wohnverhältnisse, sowie der Zugang zu Schule/ Bildung und medizinischer Versorgung im Rückkehrort erhoben.

Ergebnisse der Erhebung werden, unter Berücksichtigung der IOM-Richtlinien zum Datenschutz, ausschließlich an den entsprechenden KJH weitergeleitet.


KAPAZITÄT:

Das Projekt wird von 1. September 2015 bis 31. Dezember 2016 implementiert und sieht die Durchführung von bis zu 20 Erhebungen vor.


MATERIAL:

 

Für weitere Informationen kontaktieren Sie bitte:

Andrea Götzelmann-Rosado

Internationale Organisation für Migration (IOM)
Nibelungengasse 13/4
1010 Wien

Tel: 0043/ 1 585 33 22 22
E-Mail: avrr.vienna@iom.int

 

Dieses Projekt wird durch das Österreichische Bundesministerium für Inneres finanziert.