CulTrain

Cultural Trainings for Young Refugees

Since 2012, the IOM Country Office for Austria has been implementing the project CulTrain – Cultural Orientation Trainings for Young Refugees. These trainings are designed as a post-arrival integration measure and offer comprehensive information regarding Austria and its people. Thus, the objective is to facilitate the integration process.

Key facts

  • Trainings are offered all over Austria and are free of charge
  • Duration is highly flexible: from 3 half days during the week to 1.5 days on weekends
  • Contents are divided into three modules, being:
    • The Country and its People
    • Living Together
    • Politics and Daily Life
  • Each participant receives an accompanying booklet, a certificate of participation and a voucher worth € 20,- as a small thank-you for taking part in our trainings
  • Eligibility criteria for the beneficiaries are
    • Aged 14-27 years
    • German language competences from A1 onwards
    • Being granted asylum (§3) or Subsidiary Protection (§8)


Additional elements
Intercultural Events are organized together with Austrian youth organizations within the framework of the trainings in order to facilitate contact between the beneficiaries and Austrian youth.

Extracurricular activities in the form of excursions or external workshops take place in cooperation with specialized service providers. As a result the beneficiaries get to know various offers of support and are able to deepen the knowledge acquired during the trainings.


Link
Pictures of the trainings and new training appointments can be found on our Facebook site.


Material
Short description of the project
Information on the Intercultural Events (in German)
Information on Extracurricular Activities (in German)


Publications
In June 2016 the project CulTrain has been introduced as part of the presentation of the book: “INTEGRATION nach vor DENKEN” at the Austrian Parliament. The essays in this book closely examine how Austria is coping with migrants as well as the different fields of integration. They also analyze issues regarding different expectations, opportunities as well as challenges of integration. In fact, CulTrain has been introduced as a best practice example in this resource.(Reference: http://www.iufe.at/detail/news/buchpraesentation-integration-nach-vor-denken/)

Previously, in June 2013, the project CulTrain has been presented at the international conference of the Jagiellonian University: “Children Migrants & Third Culture Kids. Roots and Routes” in Krakow (Poland) and has also been reviewed as a separate article in the anthology of the conference: “Children on the move. Different facets of migration and childhood”.

(Reference: Benedetter K., Dobner M. (2014): CulTrain – Cultural Orientation Trainings. An integration measure in Austria tackling adaptation problems of young refugees. In: Migration Studies: Polish Diaspora Review 3 (153). P. 361-374.)

In the frame of the “5th Dialogue Forum – Summer School 2013. Dialogue between science, politics and practice” in Gmunden (Austria), organized by the Danube University Krems, the project CulTrain has been introduced as a good practice example. As a result of the Summer School, some of the presentations, including CulTrain, have been selected for an anthology.

(Reference: Benedetter K., Dobner M. (2014): CulTrain. Trainings zur kulturellen Orientierung für (ehemalige) unbegleitete minderjährige Flüchtlinge. In: Migration & Integration 4. Dialog zwischen Politik, Wissenschaft und Praxis. S. 43-52.).

Contact
Integration department
integrationvienna@iom.int
+43 1 585 33 22 / Extension: 24, 14 or 19
 


This project is co-financed by the Austrian Federal Ministry for Europe, Integration and Foreign Affairs.

CulTrain

Kulturelle Orientierungstrainings für junge Flüchtlinge

Das IOM Landesbüro für Österreich führt seit 2012 das Projekt CulTrain – Kulturelle Orientierungstrainings für junge Flüchtlinge durch. Im Rahmen der kulturellen Orientierungstrainings werden umfassende Informationen zu Österreich vermittelt, um den Integrationsprozess der Zielgruppe zu erleichtern.

Eckdaten:

  • Die Trainings werden kostenlos in ganz Österreich angeboten.
  • Die Dauer wird individuell an die Bedürfnisse der Zielgruppe angepasst und umfasst entweder 3 Halbtage unter der Woche oder 1,5 Tage an den Wochenenden.
  • Die Inhalte sind in drei Module gegliedert:
    • Land & Leute
    • Zusammenleben
    • Politik & Alltag
  • Jede/r Teilnehmer/in erhält ein Begleitheft und ein Adressheft sowie ein Teilnahmezertifikat und einen Gutschein im Wert von € 20,- als kleines Dankeschön für den zeitlichen Aufwand.
  • Teilnahmekriterien für die Trainings sind:
    • 14-27 Jahre
    • Deutsch ab A1 Niveau
    • Asyl (§3) oder subsidiärer Schutz (§8)

Zusätzliche Komponenten
Im Rahmen der kulturellen Orientierungstrainings werden interkulturelle Events gemeinsam mit österreichischen Jugendorganisationen angeboten, um ein angeleitetes Kennenlernen der Jugendlichen auf Augenhöhe zu erleichtern.

Zusätzlich werden Extracurriculare Aktivitäten, wie z.B. Exkursionen und Workshops in Kooperation mit spezialisierten Anlaufstellen, angeboten. Dadurch lernen die Jugendlichen unterschiedliche Angebote kennen und vertiefen gleichzeitig ihre während der Trainings erworbenen Kenntnisse.


Link
Fotos von bisherigen Trainings sowie die Ankündigung künftiger Trainings finden Sie auf unserer Facebook Seite.


Materialien
Kurzbeschreibung des Projektes CulTrain
Informationen zu den Interkulturellen Events
Informationen zu den Extracurricularen Aktivitäten


Publikationen
Im Juni 2016 wurde das Projekt CulTrain bei der Präsentation des Buches „INTEGRATION nach vor DENKEN“  im österreichischen Parlament vorgestellt. Die Beiträge im Sammelband beleuchten allgemein den Umgang mit Migrant/innen und Integrationsfelder in Österreich und analysieren Fragen der Erwartungshaltung sowie Chancen aber auch Herausforderungen im Integrationsbereich. CulTrain wurde im Sammelband als Best Practice Beispiel vorgestellt. (Quellenangabe: http://www.iufe.at/detail/news/buchpraesentation-integration-nach-vor-denken/)

Des Weiteren wurde das Projekt CulTrain im Juni 2013 auf der internationalen Konferenz der Jagiellonen-Universität “Children Migrants & Third Culture Kids. Roots and Routes” in Krakau (Polen) präsentiert und auch im Sammelband der Konferenz „Children on the move. Different facets of migration and childhood“ in einem separaten Artikel beleuchtet: “CulTrain – Cultural Orientation Trainings. An integration measure in Austria tackling adaption problems of young refugees". (Quellenangabe: Migration Studies: Polish Diaspora Review in 2014, issue 3(153). Benedetter K., Dobner M. (2014). CulTrain – Cultural Orientation Trainings. An integration measure in Austria tackling adaptation problems of young refugees, Migration Studies: Polish Diaspora Review 3(153), pp. 361-374.)

Beim „5. Dialogforum - Summer School 2013. Dialog zwischen Wissenschaft, Politik und Praxis“ der Donau Universität Krems in Gmunden (Österreich) wurde CulTrain außerdem als Good Practice ausgewählt und vorgestellt. Die Good Practice Beispiele fanden auch Eingang in den Sammelband der Summer School: „Migration & Integration 4. Dialog zwischen Politik, Wissenschaft und Praxis“, darunter auch: “CulTrain. Trainings zur kulturellen Orientierung für (ehemalige) unbegleitete minderjährige Flüchtlinge“.


Kontakt
Integrationsabteilung
integrationvienna@iom.int
+43 1 585 33 22 / DW: 24, 14 oder 19
 


Dieses Projekt wird durch das Bundesministerium für Europa, Integration und Äußeres finanziert.